Automotive Digital Marketing

Professional Community for Car Dealers, Marketing, Advertising and Sales Leaders

Loading... Be Patient!
As a working professional photographer, I know that shooting cars is very fun...but also very challenging! Especially when you have over 100 that you need to shoot in one day! There are reflections and lens flare and and and....does it ever end?

Here is a good site where you can join the flickr family and learn more about photography.
http://www.theportfoliopro.org
Not car centered, just photography centered. This is a website based from a group on flickr called "The Portfolio:Pro Invitation". On the flickr site, you post images and critique others...while other people critique your imagery. I find that having my work critiqued...while critiquing others really helps enhance the quality of my work.

So...what are some tips and techniques you use to capture exceptional images for your clients?

Tags: better, phtography, professional, tips

Views: 343

Replies to This ADM Discussion

Hey...don't everyone answer at once!! LOLOL

When I am shooting simple shots for a dealership listing:

1. First make sure the car is CLEAN!!! There is no use shooting a dirty car. Also, if you are using higher quality photo gear, interior (especially dashboard) surfaces must be clean and dust free. Nothing makes me madder than when I spend all day shooting a nice car, and I have captured some nice interior detail shots only to find dust in the vents or on the shift boot when I sit down to edit my images.

2. Bend you knees! All vehicles have a "belt line" and that is usually where you want the main 8 exterior images coming from. I use a tripod. If you are using an EVF camera with a tilt/swivel display, shoot from waist level.